Apple Blog

Securely delete your iPhone from your phone

With the launch of each new terminal, there is a greater chance that you will want to replace your old iPhone with the current model. Bearing in mind the amount of personal data that we may store inside (passwords, emails, photos and videos of our friends and family…) it is not a good idea to sell it without first making sure that there is no trace of our information. Vacia tu papelera de forma segura por defecto

To do this, simply go to Settings> General> Reset from the terminal itself and click on “Delete contents and settings” (remember to make a backup before). Normally, when we delete a file what the operating system actually does is establish that the space it occupies can be taken up by other data. This allows many possibilities to recover the information through certain applications, but if in addition to deleting it, we crush the space it used to occupy with random data or zeros, the security is improved by quite a few integers. That’s exactly what this iOS option does, and that’s why it can take quite a while to complete the process.

Securely delete your iPhone from your phone
Securely delete your iPhone from your phone

The official estimate on a 16 GB model is two hours , or half that on an 8 GB model. However, I think this is a rather conservative figure due to the different factors that can influence the final duration and in my personal experience, it usually lasts much less. At the end you will have an iPhoneiPod touchiPad as fresh from the factory and your data will be safe.

At Apple

Similar Posts