Apple Blog

Return from iOS 11 to iOS 10.3

I recently wrote about my first experience with iOS 11 and the impression I got from the new version of this operating system, still in its first beta. After spending a day with it and being able to test it first hand I decided that I had seen enough. Major bugs or failures, excessive battery consumption, non-optimized applications or simply not starting. The truth is that in spite of its advances, which it has and very good, this version is very green .

The process of returning to an operating system version is known as making a downgrade . This isn’t hard to do, but there are some prior considerations. Make sure you first turn off Find My iPhone .

Having made a backup

Return from iOS 11 to iOS 10.3
Return from iOS 11 to iOS 10.3

Before you decide to install a new version, back up your iPhone or iPad to your computer or to iCloud . I personally prefer the latter.

Download the recovery file

There are many pages, but this one works very well and is clear. Select your device, version of the firmware to install and set it to download .

Put your device in DFU mode

Although it’s several steps, it’s simple. Connect your device to iTunes and turn it off. Press the power button and the Home button at the same time. Hold them for 10 seconds and then release the power button and hold the Home button. After a few seconds, iTunes will show you that there is a device in recovery.

  • Important if you have an iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus: you can do it anyway, but replace the Home button with the volume down button.

Restoring

Press the Restore button with the Shift key (in Windows) or CMD + Click (Mac) pressed and select the recovery file in .ipsw format that you downloaded. Once the process is complete and you’ve made your settings with your Apple ID, you’re done. If you also want to restore a backup and you have it in iCloud, go to General>Restore>Delete Contents and Settings . Once done, you’ll be taken to a screen on your device offering to restore the backup from iCloud. Select it and after a few minutes you’ll have it just like when you left it. If the backup is on your computer, connect it to iTunes, select it, and install it.

Although it may seem quite a mess, it’s not that much either. It’s about automating the steps and doing it without fear. If you have a backup made, you won’t lose any data . Have you ever done it? Have you ever had any problems? Leave us your feedback on your experiences with iTunes and do a downgrade .

Similar Posts