Mac OS X Locations

I’ll never tire of repeating this, but Mac OS X has so many features that it’s often difficult to use them all and even discover that they exist. In this case I’m talking about Location, a feature associated with networks to which our computer is connected .

The Locations, similar to a function also existing in Windows, allows us to create several locations depending on the network we use at the time. For example, it is quite normal that in a private network a proxy is used to filter content, this way we can create several network configurations depending on our physical “location” .

Mac OS X Locations
Mac OS X Locations

By creating these settings we can have all the necessary network options predefined for our computer to work with the network it is connected to. The biggest advantage of doing this is that we don’t have to modify the data manually every time we change the network, and with just one button press we can define other network options.

Locations in Mac OS X are located within the System Preferences and do not have a large section of their own so it is normal that you have passed by more than once without noticing their location. Specifically, they are located at the top of the Network pane in the System Preferences.

The option, as such, is quite brief, i.e. it does not have a large number of options, it simply lists the various locations already created and then creates new ones.

If we click on the drop-down menu that accompanies the label “Location” we will be able to see the different locations already created and the option to Edit locations. If you have never used this option before, you will probably only have one called “Automatic”. Click on the Edit option to display a window similar to this one with the following options:

  • “+” If we press this button we will create a new location, we can edit the name directly to remember later what location it belongs to.
  • “-” If we press this button we will remove the previously selected location.
  • From the gearbox we can duplicate an already created location (previously selected) or modify the name of an existing one (this can also be done by double clicking on the name of the location).

That’s it? That’s right, that’s all the options. Now we have to set up the network according to the location we are in, but that section actually has nothing to do with this option.

Once the necessary locations have been created, we have to select one from the drop-down menu of the Network window within the System Preferences for that location to be activated. Editing it is as simple as modifying the network settings to our liking with the previously selected location.

If we change location from the drop-down menu we can configure other different network options (proxy, network name, password, DNS…) and independent of the previous ones, here lies the utility of this tool.

Similar Posts