Apple Blog

How to delete a user in macOS

If you were sharing your Mac with someone, there would probably be two users on the computer to have the separate files and all the settings. But if you have already stopped sharing the computer or simply want to better organize your computer’s innards it is best to delete this second user . In this article we explain how you can do this easily.

In addition to deleting the account of another user who no longer uses the computer, you may have noticed when you start up the Mac that there is a guest account. We also recommend that you delete it to avoid problems in the future.

How to delete a user in macOS
How to delete a user in macOS

To be able to remove the user we must follow the following steps:

  1. Log in to the main account that has administrator privileges enabled.
  2. Go to System Preferences and click on ‘Users and Groups’.
  3. On the left side, select the account you want to delete, although you must first click on the lower left lock to unlock the available options.
  4. Click on the ‘-‘ sign at the bottom.
  5. We will choose one of the three options proposed to us. We can keep the data of that user in a disk image or delete the home folder permanently to leave no trace.

For guest accounts simply select it in the left column and uncheck the option ‘Allow guests to connect to this computer’. This way only the main user will be logged in and not the guest account.

This way we will have our Mac much more computer without unnecessary users and also save the corresponding space. Obviously we should ask this person if he wants to rescue his data from his home folder as documents or images before deleting them as it is an irreversible process.

Let us know in the comment box what you think about this way of removing users in macOS.

Similar Posts