Apple Blog

5 mistakes we all make at WhatsApp

WhatsApp is probably one of the most widely used applications in the world, just a few weeks ago it surpassed the two billion global users mark. There are many people in the world who use WhatsApp every day and, the vast majority, still make very basic mistakes .

That’s why today we bring you a collection of errors that many users still make on WhatsApp and that can be solved in just a few seconds with a few clicks . Note that you will probably make more than one.

Yes, we’re sure that you make some of these mistakes , but don’t worry we’ll show you step by step how to fix it.

Do not clean our contact list

All the contacts we have added to our address book will be able to see a lot of our data on WhatsApp such as your photo, your status or if you have recently logged in . This can jeopardize our privacy and is easily fixed.

Why do you still keep the number of that partner you haven’t seen for years, or the one you sold your old iPhone to for Wallapop? They can all see a lot about you and they shouldn’t. You just have to go to the Contacts application on your iPhone or smartphone and delete all those contacts you no longer need.

Watch out for your profile picture

A good idea to keep your privacy safe is not to change your profile picture too much, we have already told you that any contact can see it. However, WhatsApp offers the possibility that only those you want to see your profile picture , follow these steps:

  • Go to WhatsApp and click on Configuration.
  • Log in to your account ; Privacy ; Profile photo.
  • Select who you want to see your photo: Everyone, My contacts or No one.

You have not activated two-step verification

Two-step verification is a tool already used by most apps and services that ask you for identification. It makes it much harder for someone to impersonate you by verifying first that it’s you with a 6-digit PIN , or an email, and not just with the SMS they send you. To activate it:

  • Go to WhatsApp and click on Configuration.
  • Now go to Account ?
  • Press Activate.

Anyone can add you to a group

Your phone is private and no one should share it , however if you are added to a group anyone can see it. Luckily you can now choose who can easily add you to groups and have them send you a request, follow these steps:

  • Again, go to WhatsApp and click on Settings , Account , Privacy .
  • Now get into Groups.
  • Select who can add you to a group, in case they cannot send you a request.

You don’t control who can see your status

As with the rest of the options we have shown you, it is normal for you to have your states open to anyone , and that is not good for your privacy. But it’s okay because you can choose who can see them very easily:

Cómo activar el modo oscuro de WhatsApp en tu iPhone paso a paso

Siguiendo estos consejos tu privacidad estará más protegida que nunca en WhatsApp y eso es algo importante, no te olvides de configurar correctamente todo los ue te hemos contado.

You know, go to WhatsApp and click on Account Settings.

  • Enter States.
  • You can choose whether all your contacts can see them, all but a few, or just the ones you want.
  • You may be interested

    Similar Posts